Friday, June 22, 2012

LeBron Can Now Sit on His Throne in Contentment

The Miami Heat won the NBA Title with a 121-106 victory over the Oklahoma City Thunder in Game 5 of the NBA Final. LeBron James was named the series' MVP.

Despite James' stature as the premier player in the game, the three time NBA MVP has long been criticized for not having the championships won by the likes of Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O'Neal. James was unable to win an NBA title during his tenure in Cleveland reaching the NBA Finals in 2007 only to be swept by the San Antonio Spurs. Of course, LeBron fell short during his inaugural season in South Beach last year when the Heat were upset by the Dallas Mavericks. Of course, Dwyane Wade is no stranger to championship glory. Wade was the part of the Heat's first NBA championship team in 2006.

As King LeBron can now sit on his throne in contentment, basketball analysts will have to talk about something other than LeBron not having a championship under his belt.

No comments: