Sunday, June 14, 2009

Lakers Win NBA Title

The Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Orlando Magic 99-86 in Game 5 of the NBA Final tonight to claim the 2008-2009 NBA Championship.

It is their 15th NBA title in franchise history. Only the Boston Celtics have more NBA Championships with 17; the most recent of which came a year ago. Lakers head coach Phil Jackson, however, surpassed Celtics legendary coach Red Auerbach with his 10th NBA Championship. It is his fourth title with the Lakers. Jackson also won six titles with the Chicago Bulls with a little help from Michael Jordan.

Kobe Bryant was named NBA Finals MVP and can finally say he won a championship without Shaquille O'Neal.

And Jack Nicholson is estatic.

No comments: